web analytics

Your DUI Rights

Georgia DUI info from around the web:

We all know that driving drunk is a bad idea. Not only are you putting the lives of those on the road around you in danger when you drive drunk, but you are also risking your right to drive. If you are arrested for DUI in the state of Georgia, you will face strict penalties. Understanding these is important as you proceed through your drunk driving case.

First offenders, which are those who have not had a DUI arrest in the past five years in Georgia, will lose their license for one year after a DUI arrest. Of course, this would make getting to work or school difficult, so the state allows first time offenders to apply for a work permit that allows them to drive to work, school, or doctor appointments. This permit lasts for 30 days, and during that time the offender can complete a Risk Reduction Course and pay $200. This allows the regular license to be reinstated after just 30 days.

Besides the driver’s license suspension, a first time DUI offender in Georgia will pay between $300 and $1,000 in fines, on top of other fees and court costs. At least one day of jail time is required, but a typical sentence is 10 days to 12 months. If the jail sentence is less than 12 months, the offender will have to serve a 12-month probation period. Offenders must perform 40 hours of community service after a Georgia DUI conviction.

Georgia DUI convictions carry strict penalties, even for first time offenders. Hiring a DUI lawyer can help lessen these penalties somewhat, but the best course of action is to never drive drunk.

Get to know the Georgia DUI Laws as well as the DUI Laws for all 50 states.

Article Source: http://EzineArticles.com/?expert=Cary_Bergeron